MUSIC REVIEW: Enthroned – “Sovereigns”

Enthroned-Sovereigns

For those individuals who are seeking that nostalgic 90’s Black Metal sound, one of which Enthroned has had in the past; this album does not provide that sound. However, it does offer a modern listening experience that does channel that unique sound I love so much. I will be honest. This is the first release since “Carnage in Worlds Beyond” that I have actually listened to and it did take some time for me to fully respect this album. Vocally, it is completely different from said time period. Lyrically I feel it is much darker in mysterious ways.

“Sovereigns” marks the 10th studio album from Enthroned. Throughout the 9 tracks, I found I could thoroughly enjoy most of them. There are certain parts that get my blood boiling because I can hear hints of the Enthroned that I was familiar with and realized they’re not jumping on the modern black metal band wagon like some other Black Metal bands. The tracks that are most memorable off this album for are “Of Feathers and Flames,” “Lamp of Invisible Lights,” and “Divine Coagulation.”

Moving on to the cover art. I read in an interview one of the band members hand painted it with blood of the members mixed into the paints. This is bad ass for many reasons. Most importantly, for me, is the fact it is not digital media. So many bands for a while went into digital media to compose the entire layout of the release and it took away from that “vibe” of being underground. Some of you will know what I am talking about. In the end this album is 3.5 Horns from me. For those individuals who are seeking that nostalgic 90’s Black Metal sound, one of which Enthroned has had in the past; this album does not provide that sound. However, it does offer a modern listening experience that does channel that unique sound I love so much. I will be honest. This is the first release since “Carnage in Worlds Beyond” that I have actually listened to and it did take some time for me to fully respect this album. Vocally, it is completely different from said time period. Lyrically I feel it is much darker in mysterious ways.

“Sovereigns” marks the 10th studio album from Enthroned. Throughout the 9 tracks, I found I could thoroughly enjoy most of them. There are certain parts that get my blood boiling because I can hear hints of the Enthroned that I was familiar with and realized they’re not jumping on the modern black metal band wagon like some other Black Metal bands. The tracks that are most memorable off this album for are “Of Feathers and Flames,” “Lamp of Invisible Lights,” and “Divine Coagulation.”

Moving on to the cover art. I read in an interview one of the band members hand painted it with blood of the members mixed into the paints. This is bad ass for many reasons. Most importantly, for me, is the fact it is not digital media. So many bands for a while went into digital media to compose the entire layout of the release and it took away from that “vibe” of being underground. Some of you will know what I am talking about. In the end this album is 3.5 out of 5 Horns from me.

– Shane Wilson
wilson.shane14@gmail.com

Enthroned

Head on over to Enthroned’s official website to hear music from their new album “Sovereigns” out through Agonia Records.

Leave a comment

Filed under CD Reviews, Metal Geeks, New Music Releases

Leave a Reply

