COMIC BOOK REVIEW: The All-New Marvel NOW! – Cyclops #1

Cyclops_1_Land_Variant
Before getting started, I just want to acknowledge this year is the year of reboots and first issues. Boy do we really need them. For that matter, we are given another X-men spin-off title. Don’t get me wrong. Magneto’s series is kick ass! Check out JM’s review on it and your see why! I am really into, Brian Michael Bendis’ “All New X-men” but my interest for a pubescent teenage Scott Summers with daddy issues is non-existent.

The comics isn’t terrible buy any stretch of the imagination; but it’s just average. The art has done very well to keep to artist David Marquez’s drawing style of the young Scott Summers from All New X-Men. There are some redeeming quality’s. For instance, Scott using his optical beam through space. Also, there is a scene in the Space Jammers cockpit what very Star Wars Esq and it was cool to see how a young Scott Summers instinctively lead the head of the attack on the other ship…but that’s really about it. There is just no substance. No edge to get you hooked. No yearning for more. The way it ends it could easily be a one shot issue with nothing really leading you for more or no real cliff hanger.

I know I’m not really writing much about the first issue but I don’t believe in shitting on someone else work too much. To me this comic isn’t worth paying for by adding it to your Wednesday hauls. So swerve it for now, maybe wait until it’s a Trade Paper Back. Nevertheless, if you do get it go for Skottie Young’s baby variant. Its a pretty cool dawn baby Cyclops shooting his optic beam. Anyways, I’m only going to give this a 2 Metal Horns out of 5.

So let me know what you think and reach me on Instagram @his_masters_voice25 or tweet me @hamidhojabr.

I am Hamid Hojabr. All ways remember to “Rock Out With Your Geek Out!”

cyclops2014001Cyclops_1_Preview_1Cyclops_1_Preview_2Cyclops_1_Preview_3Cyclops_1_Young_Variant

Leave a comment

Filed under comic book press release, Comic Book Reviews, Metal Geeks

Leave a Reply

