COMIC BOOK REVIEW: DC Comics – Justice League 3000 #6

DC-Comics

Difficult! I know there aren’t many out there that have not been reading anything Justice League and quite frankly, I’m the odd man out, majority of the time. I’ve never really seen much appeal in the joint adventures as I felt often times it was trying to focus on too many things at one time to get a strong point across and be clear on what is going on. To a new reader this was a tough one. More than usually jumping into a series that I have no prior knowledge of. Many references to existing occurrences, developing current story line but hardly explaining items to again, make new readers aware of earlier happenings. It isn’t unheard of, because why take 2 steps forward and 3 back just to bring a new audience up to speed EVERY issue? While it isn’t a bad idea, I understand it, have to track new ground and not keep embellishing on the past. With that said, let’s jump in. BUT! Take fair warning I care not of fact corrections, but admire constructive criticisms, only helps me as a writer and a fan. Makes me want to learn more and to really think outside of the bubble, broaden horizons. Enough of that! LETS GET IT ON!

Opening scene we find Bats, Superman, Wonder Woman, The Flash, and Firestorm facing off with “The Five.” Entombed deep within the 31st century, they are quickly transported into confinement and apparently there for dissection both mentally and possibly killed off…then their remains sifted through for study. All of this before any real action happens. Coeval, the main blue digital broadcasts himself into the minds of the league at the same time, but in separate conversations, a multi-channel interrogation of sorts. Batman and Wonder Woman, seeking to gain information on how to defeat and access weaknesses have a one track mind. Firestorm however, swears no allegiance to the Justice League, nor Coeval. This revealed after Coeval’s plan to have the League help The Five maintain balance and help destroy the remaining clusters of the resistance.

In each conversation we learn quickly what each character is like and how they have come to survive for so long and in some instances (Super Man) what was sacrificed to make it so. Each conversation is like a different channel. We have three characters still standing on the truths of every Hero, one looking out for himself, abandoning all allegiances, one feeling guilty, experiencing a bit of an ego trip. Lastly we find the Flash, holding his ground until mention of Cadmus not telling the truth, Batman, Wonder Woman, and Super Man learning of their origins after their regeneration after death occurred. He’s being swayed, only for the chance to learn of what he was. There seems a lingering mini story within a story of how the Green Lantern has become miniature sized and almost made into jewelry by a mood swung blue brat named Locus.

While the drawings and panels seem vibrant and detailed driven, I couldn’t fully enjoy this read. Simply for the fact I was really blind. It wasn’t to where I wanted to read it over a couple of times to get it all to make enough sense. Sure I could Wiki read about the prior story but that might just leave me disappointed. While I’ve learned to venture out on new comics and characters I won’t close the book on this one just yet and have it be a bad example of DC creations. There was just too much going on for my liking. I’ll favor my monotone character stories and be happy with guest appearances and references too. Call me one colored but I likes what I likes, but by everyone, especially in comics have things they like in certain ways. I’ll evolve, but slowly, have to learn to accept change!

\m/ \m/ out of 5

-Simon Hernandez

JL3000-Cv6 JL3000-6-1 JL3000-6-2 JL3000-6-3 JL3000-6-4 JL3000-6-5
If you want to purchase this comic digitally, head on over to the official DC COMICS website. If you want a physical copy head on over to Comic Shop Locator, enter in your location (BTW it works internationally) to find a shop near you. Tell them the Metal Geeks sentcha!

Leave a comment

Filed under Comic Book Reviews, Metal Geeks

Leave a Reply

