Tag Archives: Whitechapel

CD REVIEW: Whitechapel – Our Endless War

First of all, I will start out by saying that I have always been a huge fan of Whitechapel, and their latest offering definitely doesn’t change things at all. There are not too many singers that I could see replacing Phil in Whitechapel. His crushing delivery really helps make this band what they are, which is something they never try to hide. I remember back when they were recording A new Era of Corruption, in one of the video docs, Phil said something about “pronunciating better”, and since then his vocals have gotten more legible every time without losing the relentless pummeling vocals.

In Our Endless War, it definitely seems like it’s a “balls to the wall” attempt to make this a truly heavy album without just relying on the nonstop breakdowns that this band normally follows. Back when I was younger, my friends and mother always mentioned how my music was all dark and the lyrics were always dark. On this occasion, I would have to agree with them, but that is what I love about this band. With the title song, one of the lyrics that keeps getting thrown in is, “let’s take back our justice for all”. In most occasions, when Whitechapel has “understandable” lyrics, they are usually very dark so this was a nice change. The drumming and guitar work have only gotten better with this album and I would like to say that within a few more albums, Whitechapel will potentially become a totally different band, dropping their deathcore title that they have gained. Overall, this is a great album and I recommend anyone to give it a listen even if you aren’t a fan.

4.5/5 horns

-Stephen Portala

Head on over to Metal Blade Records to hear a track off the album and if you like it; purchase it!

Leave a comment

Filed under CD Reviews, Metal Geeks

New Music Releases for 4/29/2014


I suppose every label on the planet decided to release an album on Tuesday. I spy a few I will be scoping out on Spotify…

Aborted – The Necrotic Manifesto (Century Media)
Abysmal Torment – Cultivate The Apostate (Willowtip)
Adestria – Gilded Hearts (Artery)
Annihilator – Feast Limited Edition CD/DVD (UDR)
Anti-Mortem – New Southern (Nuclear Blast)
Anti Ritual – Anti Ritual (Indisciplinarian)
Archspire – The Lucid Collective (Season Of Mist)
Autopsy – Tourniquets, Hacksaws and Graves (Peaceville)
Beneath – Barren Throne (Unique Leader)
Centurian – Choronzonic Chaos Gods Re-Release (Hells Headbangers)
Centurian – Of Purest Fire Re-Release (Hells Headbangers)
Cloak Of Altering – Plague Beasts (Crucial Blast)
Coldwar – Pantheist (Candlelight)
Curimus – Artificial Revolution (Freezing Penguin/Svart)
Dead In The Manger – Transience EP (20 Buck Spin)
Death – Leprosy Re-Release (Relapse)
Devil You Know – The Beauty Of Destruction (Nuclear Blast)
Dismemberment – Embrace The Dark (Horror Pain Gore Death)
Edguy – Space Police: Defenders Of The Crown (Nuclear Blast)
Existance – Steel Alive (Mausoleum)
Exorcism – I Am God (GoldenCore)
Fake Idols – Fake Idols (Lifeforce)
Fatal Smile – White Trash Heroes (FS)
Floor – Oblation (Season Of Mist)
Forest Of Tygers – Bruises EP (Primitive Violence)
Fu Manchu – Gigantoid (At the Dojo)
Grey Skies Fallen – The Many Sides of Truth (Xanthros)
Helstar – This Wicked Nest (AFM)
Holy Moses – Redefined Mayhem (SPV)
Ikillya – Vae Victus (Megaforce)
Infestus – The Reflecting Void (Debemur Morti)
Insomnium – Shadows Of The Dying Sun (Century Media)
Jeremy Irons & the Ratgang Malibus – Spirit Knife (Small Stone)
Klogr – Black Snow (Zeta Factory)
Lake Of Tears – By The Black Sea DVD/CD (AFM)
Lord Mantis – Death Mask (Profound Lore)
Kublai Khan – Balancing Survival & Happiness (Artery)
Manilla Road – Mystification Re-Release (Shadow Kingdom)
Martyr Defiled – No Hope No Morality (Century Media)
Mekong Delta – A Mirror Darkly (SPV)
Mind – Save Yourself From Hell (Selfmadegod)
Miss May I – Rise Of The Lion (Rise)
Portrait – Crossroads (Metal Blade)
Psycho – Chainsaw Priest (Selfmadegod)
Reformers – Abolish (Mediaskare)
Revelation – Salvation’s Answer Re-Release (Shadow Kingdom)
Romantic Rebel – Romantic Rebel (Pavement)
Saliva – Rise Up (Rum Bum)
Saxon – St. George’s Day Sacrifice – Live In Manchester (UDR)
Schammasch – Contradiction (Prosthetic)
So Hideous – Last Poem/First Light (Prosthetic)
Super Massive Black Holes – Calculations of the Ancients (Minotauro)
Thine – The Dead City Blueprint (Peaceville)
Twitch of the Death Nerve – A New Code of Morality (Comatose)
Unlight – The Katalyst Of The Katharsis (War-Anthem)
Upon This Dawning – We Are All Sinners (Artery)
Vanhelga – Längtan (Art of Propaganda)
Whitechapel – Our Endless War (Metal Blade)

Leave a comment

Filed under Metal Geeks, New Music Releases